Christmas in Andalusia, Day 2

Up nice and early again, plenty of rain over night but with clear skies things looked promising for the 480 mile run into Spain….you know, no matter how many times I’ve been to France I just can’t really love the place..the roads aren’t that inspiring, yes, around the Alps and no doubt the Pyrenees but other than that they seem to me to be just flat, well maintained but just, dare I say it, boring…the landscape it the same..just flat…I’m sure there will be plenty of people that will say different but that’s just how I see it..

Anyway back on the road after checking out, sun just coming up in clear skies as I head down the motorways, lots of motorways today, even on the Garmin fastest route setting it was still nearly seven and a half hours of riding time..just as the sun was above the horizon a little bit of mist started to roll in, then it became fog, then rain, this wasn’t forecast ! At least it was washing the bike off a bit…the rain didn’t last long, once through Cognac and then Bordeaux the rain had stopped and time for the first fuel up of the day. With a full tank it’s back on the motorway holding at a steady 130 kph…munching up the miles with only the odd toll to pay to take the boredom away, although I could have done without putting the ticket in the wrong slot..having to press the ‘help’ button, and using all the French words I know to summon assistance..each toll after that I made sure I had the correct hole before inserting…

Finally some hill in the distance, no more than hills, the Pyrenees ! The road started to get more interesting, similar to the road that takes you to Mont Blanc in the Alps, kinda makes sense I suppose but really nice to have something to get the bike leaning into, long sweeping high speed bends that don’t tighten up on you or do anything silly..great stuff..the suddenly Spain, first time on main land Spain dice I was a nipper 8 or 9 I would guess…motorway speeds changed from 130 to 120..tolls are a little different but seemed to be manned…always a bonus for someone like me..a few tunnels amongs the bends, reminded me a little of the A7 in Italy..more fuel, fluids in and out… 

Just into Spain
 
Then a last dash to the hotel for the night, great little place, but dated from the outside but great inside, good staff and nice food, think I’m going to like Spain..

 

Hotel Ciudad de Burgos
 
Route map split into 2 bits as I could fit it all on one map.. 

Last bit of France
  
Guess where the tunnels are
 
Similar distance to cover tomorrow..through Madrid and onto Malaga..hopefully no more rain !

Leave a Reply

